Monday, February 16, 2009

40th Anniversary

The 1969 season, the NASL was struggling, with only 5 teams left in the league. It was before the league hit it's height in the 1970's with players like Pele and Franz Beckenbauer, but the American league was around at the time. With only 5 teams, the first half of the season was spent with English and Scotish clubs representing the 5 American teams. Half way through the season, the American teams took over. There was a 16 game season between those 5 teams, and the winner of that season, was Kansas City's own, Kansas City Spurs. The Spurs won the league with a 10-2-4 (W-L-D) record to capture the NASL title for that season. The Spurs were only in KC for one more season, the team ceased operations after the 1970 season. This year is the 40th anniversary of the Spurs championship season. It'd be great if the Wizards some how found a way to honor the Spurs title winning team some how this year. Even if it was some kind of small mention to honor the team, it'd be fantastic for Kansas City's current team to honor the history of the sport in this city.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...