Monday, November 13, 2006

Congrats to the Dynamo

Congratulations to the Houston Dynamo on winning their first title in their first season in Houston. The club had perviously won 2 MLS Cups as the San Jose Earthquakes, but started their history over again this season with the move to Houston.

A fairly dull final, with some decent chances from both sides saw regulation end with the score tied at 0-0. Then in the second overtime 2 goals in the same of about a minute made the game 1-1. The first goal from Taylor Twellman after Khano Smith's run at the Dynamo defense had freed up Twellman and a great pass allowed Twellman to easily slot the ball past Pat Onstad.

Basically right from the kickoff, though, the Dynamo drove right back down the field, with Brian Ching finishing a header to knot the score at 1 a piece, so it was on to PK's.

The majority of the PK's were a clinic on how to properly take a penalty kick, well placed and with power, leaving Onstad and New England keeper, Matt Reis, with little chance on any of the PKs. A miss by Pat Noonan, and a Reis save on Brad Davis' PK put the score at 4-3 heading into the last shooter for New England, Jay Heaps. Ater the basic clinic that was put on, it was Heaps deciding PK that was the worst of all of them. Hit with little pace, on the ground, and not well placed, it was an easy collection for Onstad as it went right into his stomach and easily held. It's a PK that should be shown to all youth players as how to NOT take a penalty kick.

So New England moves to 0-3 in MLS Cups and has a total of 1 goal. Houston wins the Cup in their "first" season and gains a spot in next seasons' CONCACAF Champion's Cup along with Supporters Shield winner DC United.

No comments: